Home News CJ Koome transfers Court of Appeal judges, posts new ones

CJ Koome transfers Court of Appeal judges, posts new ones


Chief Justice Martha Koome has announced the transfer of Court of Appeal judges.

The CJ also gave an update on the posting of the seven judges who were recently sworn in to serve in the court.

In a statement on Monday, Koome said the transfers have been effected following consultations with the President of the Court of Appeal, Justice Daniel Musinga.

“The transfers are done in accordance with the Transfer Policy of the Court of Appeal that spells out clearly how long a judge should serve in one station, among other issues,” the CJ’s statement said.

The Judges will report to their new stations on July 1, 2021.

Following the changes; Justices Daniel Musinga will serve as President, Court of Appeal Nairobi, Lady Justice Hannah Okwengu, Head- Civil Division, Nairobi, Justice Mohamed Warsame, COA Representative to Judicial Service Commission, Nairobi, Justice Asike Makhandia, Head, Criminal Division, Nairobi and Justice Kathurima M’Inoti as Director, Judiciary Training Institute, Nairobi.

Others who will serve in Nairobi include; Lady Justices Roselyn Nambuye, Wanjiru Karanja, Agnes Murgor, Fatuma Sichale, Jamila Mohammed, Hellen Omondi and Justices Imaana Laibuta, Sankale ole Kantai and Msagha Mbogholi.

Justice Francis Tuiyott and Lady Justice Mumbi Ngugi have been posted in Kisumu as well as Justice Patrick O. Kiage who will serve as Presiding Judge.

Lady Justices Pauline Nyamweya and Jessie Lesiit will serve in Mombasa where they will be joined by Justice Gatembu Kairu as Presiding Judge.

The changes come almost two weeks after the 34 judges whose names were gazetted by President Uhuru Kenyatta took the oath of office.

A total of 41 names had been forwarded to the president but he rejected six of them.

One of the judges passed on before his name was gazetted.

The judges were approved for the Court of Appeal were Msagha Mbogholi, Hellen Omondi, Mumbi Ngugi, Francis Tuiyott, Pauline Nyamweya, Jessie Lesiit, and Imaana Laibuta.

Source link